Nations – Foster Families, about the same

Proverbs 11: 14 For lack of guidance a nation falls, but victory is won through many advisers.

After my cyber meltdown this week I reached out to literally hundreds of people and resources for advice. How do you manage ADHD kids? How do you let natural consequences play out when the natural consequence is failure? Why is bed time and sleep something they fight so much? When will this get better? Am I going to lose my mind? Was I crazy to do this?

Yeah lots of questions. And thankfully I got lots of good answers and advice from very wise people. You know, there are sages among us all.

And today was a much better day…so far. Bed time last night was not a chore, we even got to get to bed early. This morning there was no yelling, no multiple wake ups to get the kids out of their beds, we were in the car on time and arrived at schools early. I have to trust they made it to their homerooms on time. I’ve learned that dropping them off with plenty of time to get to the appropriate classroom does not guarantee success.

Here’s what I did with some of the great advice I got:
1) Created a list of Senters House Rules
2) Developed a daily schedule for week day routines for each child
3) Posted a Chores Chart and assigned duties to each child
4) Took a break and got a 2 hour nap
5) Simplified my meal plans

One day at a time, right.

One plan at a time.

I must remember the journey is the adventure.

Leave a Reply

